501 E. Water Street
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone: (906) 632-3658
Toll Free: (888) 744-7867
The Museum Ship Valley Camp was built in 1917 and retired in 1966. After 1966, the 550 foot long freighter was permanently docked on historic Water Street and transformed into a museum. The Valley Camp offers more than just a tour of her deck. Visitors can explore the wheelhouse, sleeping quarters, and her cargo hold which now houses over a hundred exhibits; including one dedicated to the Edmund Fitzgerald.
Visitors are fascinated by the exhibit featuring the freighter, Edmund Fitzgerald. The legend of the Edmund Fitzgerald remains the most mysterious and controversial of all shipwreck tales heard around the Great Lakes. The only story more popular is that of the Titanic.
On November 10, 1975, 17 miles north-west of Whitefish Point, MI weather took a turn for the worse and the freighter went down capturing the lives of all 29 mine aboard.
Found at the shipwreck scene, along with other artifacts, were two of the freighters life boats. The Museum Ship Valley Camp houses these lifeboats and the exhibit also includes a film that recaps the tragedy that struck 40 years ago.
Along with the museum exhibits, the Valley Camp holds four 1,200 gallon aquariums stocked with multiple species of fish from the Great Lakes region. The Michigan Department of Natural Resources and the Michigan Wholesale Bait of Alanson, Michigan provide these fish every year.
The Valley Camp once housed 29 men in her cabins. People that visit are able to view these cabins first hand. Visitors get a view of where the men slept, cooked, and lived abroad the freighter alongside the Captain’s Quarters.
The Museum Ship Valley Camp is open to visitors from Mid-May to Mid-October. For hours, rates, and or more information please visit Valley Camp’s website here.